(Quick) Book Review: The Divorce Papers

The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger

The Divorce Papers by Susan Rieger
Rating: 3/5
Release Date: March 18, 2014

The Divorce Papers: A Novel

Perfect for fans of Bridget Jones’ Diary who are all grown up, The Divorce Papers is my pick for this year’s ultimate plane/beach/Spring Break read.

I’m a big fan of epistolary novels (Dracula, The Star of the Sea, The Historian) and this one is no different. Rieger tells the story of a young lawyer through a series of legal briefs, memos, emails and traditional narrative. Her characters are believable and easy to get invested in — I particularly love divorcee Mia Meiklejohn Durkheim!

If I have one negative thing to say it’s that the book does not translate to an e-reader particularly well. Reading the legal briefs and handwritten notes on a Kindle was so painful I actually set down the book for a while. Luckily I was able to pick up a paperback copy and finish this entrancing and fun book!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s