Christmas 2012: Harry Potter

I couldn’t end my Christmas gift guides without mentioning the great Harry Potter products available out there! I’m such a Potter-head so I find things everywhere that relate (seriously, check out my pinterest board). Here are a few favorites:



Hogwarts Crest Alumni Tshirt

1. Hogwarts Alumni T-Shirt: Because who doesn’t wish they’d attended the coolest school on earth?

Hogwarts Tea Set

2. Hogwarts Crest Tea Set: Every girl needs a tea set, why not make it Potter themed? This one is house inclusive so that when your Hufflepuff friends come to visit they’ll feel included.

Polyjuice Flask

3. Polyjuice Hip Flask: For those of us who grew up on Potter, we’re ready for something a little stronger than tea. Here’s the solution to your adult beverage Potter needs.

Accio Brain Cozy

4. Accio Travel Mug Cozy: Continuing with the drink theme, this cozy will keep your beverage warm until it works its magic!

Book Title Sweatshirt

5. Book Title Pullover: Wear your heart on your sleeves, or at least the way to your heart, siriusly.

All Was Well necklace

6. “All Was Well” necklace: The series may be over but the magic doesn’t have to be. Wear this necklace as a reminder the books that started it all!

Owl Post Box

7. Owl Post Gift Box: Finally, the perfect thing to deliver your HP themed gift to that special someone. Owl delivery not included.

Advertisements

Christmas 2012: DVDs

Don’t worry, this is the penultimate gift guide for Christmas 2012. I wanted to share a few gifts that aren’t books or makeup so here are a few DVDs I’d love to see in my stocking!

DVD collage

1. Audrey Hepburn Collection (Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Roman Holiday, Sabrina): Hello, my name is Alexandra and I’m addicted Audrey. Though I probably shouldn’t admit my addiction (or feed it with more movies) this movie deal was too great to pass up! It doesn’t include two of my favorites (How to Steal a Million and Charade) but it has all the big name classics!

2. Party Girl : Though I haven’t had the privilege to see this movie yet, all of my SILS professors keep raving about it!

3. Desk Set: Another movie I haven’t seen but my professors love!

Christmas 2012: Fragrance Wishlist

The wish lists just keep coming folks! Since I moved to my new apartment near UNC, I’ve been loving fragrance. I wasn’t allowed to burn candles at Kenyon and my dad hates stinky things in his house so I haven’t had the chance to experiment with wonderful smelling candles and perfumes. Here’s a list of what I want to add to my collection soon:fragrance wishlist

 

1. Charles Dickens’ Library Candle : Candle + Library Scent + Badass Victorian Author = BEST candle ever. It’s homey, woodsy and makes me think of wood-panelled walls and cigars.

2. Chanel Coco Noir: Chanel’s newest fragrance is even more sensuous than No. 5 — need I say more?

3. Jo Malone Wild Fig & Cassis: This would be a good addition to my Jo Malone layering collection — fresh, fruity, with a little spice!

4. Jo Malone Pomegranate Noir Candle: I wear this perfume nearly every day and I love the scent so much it’d be perfect for my apartment! It’s spicy and just a little mysterious.

5. Vera Wang Princess: Though I generally prefer more oriental/masculine scents, this girly scent has quickly become a favorite. I received a sample at Nordstrom a few months ago and took it on a trip as an easy-to-pack fragrance. I don’t have a full-sized version of this scent yet and I think a rollerball would be the perfect in purse selection!

6. Winter Night Candle by Bath & Body Works: This fills the house with a fireside scent, perfect for those of us with a gas fireplace!

Christmas 2012: Teen Reads I Recommend

And here you thought I was through with my book recommendations for the year! I couldn’t do another Christmas guide without mentioning my favorite YA books for the year. Most of them I’ve read within the past 10 months or so but a few old-school favorites made it onto the list.

Secret Letters by Leah Scheier

1. Secret Letters by Leah Scheier : Victorian setting + strong female character + Sherlock Holmes-ian mystery? Count me in! This is the book that I thought The Name of the Star would be — and this time I wasn’t disappointed. Scheier is a genius with words: the story is fast-paced and enticing. My biggest disappointment with this book was realizing the sequel won’t be out for far too long. As a side-note, this is a YA version of Dust and Shadow by Lyndsey Faye that I reviewed earlier this year and mentioned in my books I recommend post.

Pure by Julianna Baggott

2. Pure by Julianna Baggott: I’ve already reviewed this one on my blog but it was so stellar it warranted mentioning again. Baggott writes in the vein of Collins, Roth and Condie, making the book an excellent addition to any fan’s collection.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green: As a Kenyon alumna I’m practically required to be a John Green fan; luckily for me, his novels are spectacular! I had to read Looking for Alaska as part of my YA Literature class (INLS 530) and I’m so glad it was a requirement. The story is so heartbreaking, “coming of age” done correctly. Drop everything and go pick it up, now!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth: Another book for those Hunger Games fans, Roth writes about a post-apocalyptic US where families have been replaced with groups called factions. Teens are tested and placed into a faction based on their abilities, but once they get there the teens are forced to prove themselves. Terrifying in the way the Hunger Games are, the series is a way to keep Collins fans reading.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak: I came late to the party on this one! It came out ages ago but it bears mentioning here. The story follows a young girl in WWII Germany who learns about the power of words through stolen books.

Christmas 2012: Beauty Wishlist

Now that I’ve shared the books that I want and the books that I recommend, I thought I’d move on to some beauty products I’ve had my eye on all year.

Bioderma Crealine H20

1. Bioderma Crealine H20 (Travel Size):

Since I saw Lisa Eldridge talk about this product in her skin care favorites video, I knew I had to have it! I recently bought the full-size version for home and I’ve been loving it. It’s the only makeup remover I’ve ever tried that doesn’t’ feel greasy and leaves my skin feeling clean. It’s a godsend when I’m too sleepy to take off my makeup and just want to crawl into bed. Unfortunately, the full-size version is just too big to haul around on trips so I would love to have the mini version!

PINCEAU FOND DE TEINT ESTOMPE No7 Blending Foundation Brush

2. Chanel Blending Foundation Brush:

I’ve been on quite the Chanel beauty kick lately and this brush would be the perfect
way to apply my new foundation! It’s fluffy, dries quickly after cleaning and gives a really natural finish to the skin.

Urban Decay Naked Palette

3. Urban Decay Naked Palette:

This little palette has made the rounds on the blogosphere (and youtube) for over a year! The colors
are the perfect neutrals to make any eye color pop and with it you’d never need to buy eyeshadow again!

s1438787-main-Lhero

4. Clinique Even Better Eyes:

I’ll admit my under eye circles are something of a doozy — without concealer I wake up looking like I had a hard night at the wrestling ring the night before. I’ve used the Clinque All About Eyes Serum since I was in middle school but their new product promises even better results. Santa, please?

Caudalie Serum

5. Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance Serum:

Though I am still too young to go crazy over anti-aging serums, I would love to begin working a basic serum into my nighttime routine. This one promises to fade dark spots and keep them from coming back — music to this former acne sufferer’s ears!


Elizabeth Arden 8-Hour Cream

6. Elizabeth Arden 8-hour Cream:

This one is a cult-classic and I hear it’s definitely worth the hype! A moisturizer that smells divine, absorbs well and softens even the driest skin. It comes in lip, hand, body and face versions — gotta love multipurpose products!

Deborah Lippman Happy Birthday

7. Deborah Lippmann Glitter Nail Polish in Happy Birthday:

I’ve loved this polish since it launched a few years ago but I still haven’t managed to get my hands on a bottle! It’s a great glitter with multi-colored dots — perfect for a birthday party or new years eve.

Check out my other gift guides:

Books on my list

Books I recommend

Christmas 2012: Books I Recommend

I’ve already posted the books that I’ve been coveting this year, but I wanted to share my suggestions for stocking stuffers with you guys! I’ve read all of the books below this year and HIGHLY recommend them. Check them out and let me know what you think!

Astray by Emma Donoghue
  • I’ll admit I’m usually not a fan of short stories – just when you get to know the characters they leave! However, since discovering The Woman Who Gave Birth to Rabbits while on the Kenyon-Exeter Program (2010-2011) I have fallen in love with Donoghue’s short fiction. She has an amazing ability to introduce and develop characters in a very small space. Her newest collection, Astray, is about comings and goings, immigrations and emigrations.
When She Woke by Hillary Jordan
A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  • This is the only one that I didn’t discover in the past year. I snuck it in here because the sequel, Shadow of Night came out this summer. There’s so much to love about A Discover of Witches – set in the Bodleian Library, involves hints (or a lot, really) of the supernatural, strong female characters… Check out my view the sequel here.
The Bellwether Revivals by Benjamin Wood
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce
  • Previously reviewed here.
Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn
  • Though her newest novel Gone Girl has received much critical acclaim, I prefer her earlier work. Sharp Objects was a bit of an underground classic at my high school and it became a secret code for my best friend and I. “WICKED above her hipbone, GIRL across her heart.”

Christmas 2012: Books On My List

 

There seems to be a general theme with my book wish list this year. I’ve chosen primarily nonfiction works: some memoirs, biographies, and DIYs. I could give you a philosophical reasoning about the shift, starting with my educational journey from liberal arts to professional school, but you’re more interested in the list, aren’t you?

  1. Grace: A Memoir by Grace Coddington
  2. Celebrate:  A Year of Festivities for Families and Friends by Pippa Middleton
    England + entertainment + a Middleton? Count me in!
  3. Sybil Exposed by Debbie Nathan
  4. The Gods of Gotham by Lyndsay Faye
    I reviewed her earlier work Dust and Shadow — https://alexandrampatterson.com/2012/10/05/book-review-dust-and-shadow/
  5. A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L’Engle (50th Anniversary Edition)
    This was the first “big girl” book I ever read. I remember one of my elementary school teachers read it to us every day during “story time.” Though I began to prefer L’Engle’s A Ring of Endless Light as I grew up, the Wrinkle in Time Quintet will always have a special place in my heart.
  6. Moranthology by Caitlin Moran
    I’m currently reading How To Be a Woman and loving it so I would really like to have a little more Caitlin Moran in my life!
  7. Notorious Victoria: The Life of Victoria Woodhull, Uncensored by Mary Gabriel
  8. Education of a Woman: The Life of Gloria Steinem by Carolyn G. Heilbrun

I’m hoping to see a few of these in my stocking this year! Which ones are you excited about?