Christmas Gift Card Picks

If you’re anything like me, you probably got a few gift cards for Christmas. Though I know I should spread the “wealth” over the next few months, I can never sit on a gift card long. Here are a few of my suggestions for spending that Barnes and Noble/Amazon/Independent bookstore gift card that’s burning a hole in your pocket:

the joy luck club by amy tan
 
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

Who doesn’t want a little of everyone else’s family drama after the holidays?!

Continue reading “Christmas Gift Card Picks”

Advertisements

Books On My Wishlist

Since I shared a lot of my picks for those on your list this Christmas, I thought it was only fair that I let you in on what is at the top of my list. I have a never-ending list of books I want to read, but these recent releases would be a welcome addition under my Christmas tree.

Continue reading “Books On My Wishlist”

Christmas 2012: Teen Reads I Recommend

And here you thought I was through with my book recommendations for the year! I couldn’t do another Christmas guide without mentioning my favorite YA books for the year. Most of them I’ve read within the past 10 months or so but a few old-school favorites made it onto the list.

Secret Letters by Leah Scheier

1. Secret Letters by Leah Scheier : Victorian setting + strong female character + Sherlock Holmes-ian mystery? Count me in! This is the book that I thought The Name of the Star would be — and this time I wasn’t disappointed. Scheier is a genius with words: the story is fast-paced and enticing. My biggest disappointment with this book was realizing the sequel won’t be out for far too long. As a side-note, this is a YA version of Dust and Shadow by Lyndsey Faye that I reviewed earlier this year and mentioned in my books I recommend post.

Pure by Julianna Baggott

2. Pure by Julianna Baggott: I’ve already reviewed this one on my blog but it was so stellar it warranted mentioning again. Baggott writes in the vein of Collins, Roth and Condie, making the book an excellent addition to any fan’s collection.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

3. Looking for Alaska by John Green: As a Kenyon alumna I’m practically required to be a John Green fan; luckily for me, his novels are spectacular! I had to read Looking for Alaska as part of my YA Literature class (INLS 530) and I’m so glad it was a requirement. The story is so heartbreaking, “coming of age” done correctly. Drop everything and go pick it up, now!

Divergent by Veronica Roth

4. Divergent by Veronica Roth: Another book for those Hunger Games fans, Roth writes about a post-apocalyptic US where families have been replaced with groups called factions. Teens are tested and placed into a faction based on their abilities, but once they get there the teens are forced to prove themselves. Terrifying in the way the Hunger Games are, the series is a way to keep Collins fans reading.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak: I came late to the party on this one! It came out ages ago but it bears mentioning here. The story follows a young girl in WWII Germany who learns about the power of words through stolen books.

A Christmas List: The School Gear Edition

The only good think about a new semester is new school supplies!

1. Hogwarts Sweatshirt $29.99
2. Luke’s Diner Coffee Tumbler $24.50
3. Moleskine Volant Notebook $18.95
4. Cambridge Satchel Company Satchel $130

1. Refined Around the Edges Tape $9.99
2. Key ring USB drive $29.99
3. Russel and Hazel Binder $24.00
4. Willow Damask File Folders $9.00

A Christmas List: The Makeup Edition

What girl doesn’t love getting new goodies to play with? I’m no different so I’ve compiled a list of the products I’d most like to play with this holiday season.

1. OPI Nail Varnish in Rally Pretty Pink $8.00
2. Nars Multiple in Orgasm $39.00
3. Birchbox Subscription– one year $110
4. Jo Malone Nutmeg & Ginger Cologne $55

1. Deborah Lippmann Nail Varnish in Happy Birthday $18
2. Molton Brown Re-charge Black Pepper Set $50
3. Smashbox Jet Set Eyeliner in Metallic Bronze $22
4. YSL Touche Eclat Concealer $40